Our network

Student Pages Selected for Maryland General Assembly 2011 | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Student Pages Selected for Maryland General Assembly 2011
News, People, Schools

Five Frederick County students will serve as pages, and one as alternate, for the Maryland General Assembly 2011 legislative session. All are high school seniors.

Margo Dawes, Frederick High – Current student member on the local Board of Education, Margo has earned recognition as a National AP Scholar and Maryland Distinguished Scholar Semifinalist. She was named MVP Lawyer of the Season during 2009 Mock Trial competition, is a National Honor Society member and has won several academic awards. Margo is also past president of the Frederick County Association of Student Councils.

Joseph E. Gros IV, Catoctin High – Vice president of the Frederick County Association of Student Councils, Joseph has earned the AP Scholar with Honor award. He is a student mentor, Catoctin Show Choir soloist and Student Government Association (SGA) public relations officer. Joseph is on the Mock Trial team and is a National Honor Society member.  Among many other activities and honors, he also served as varsity swim team and JV soccer team captain. 

Georgianna Pisano-Goetz, Urbana High – Georgianna is enrolled in the International Baccalaureate program and is a National Honor Society member. She has participated in cheerleading, several class clubs, French Club and Mock Trial. Georgianna attended The Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth for several summers and has assisted with the Frederick County Sheriff’s Junior Deputy Program.

            Gayon Sampson, Tuscarora High – Current student member of the Maryland State Board of Education, Gayon was also Frederick County Association of Student Councils executive vice president. In addition, he serves on Eliminating the Achievement Gap and his School Improvement Team. He is his school’s SGA vice president, class president and Necktie Club president. Gayon is on the Mock Trial team and has earned numerous academic, service and leadership awards.         

Chandler Thornton, Governor Thomas Johnson High – A Distinguished Maryland Scholar and National Honor Society member, Chandler has earned college credits from The Johns Hopkins University and Frederick Community College while attending high school. He has played varsity golf and tennis.  Chandler is SGA president, class treasurer, Young Republicans president and Mock Trial team captain.

Jonathan Nizansky, Walkersville High will serve as an alternate. An AP Scholar and Maryland Boys State member, Jonathan is Walkersville’s It’s Academic team captain, a musician and a member of the Mock Trial team.

Serving as a legislative page is a unique opportunity for students to learn firsthand about the workings of the legislative process in our state. Apportionment of pages, by county, is based on the census taken at the beginning of each decade. Maryland pages must be senior high school students residing in the state.

News, People, Schools

Frederick County Businesses