Our network

MCPS Students Win National Achievement Scholarships | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

MCPS Students Win National Achievement Scholarships
MCPS Students Win National Achievement Scholarships

The following information was sent to us by Montgomery County Public Schools:

Thirteen high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have been selected as 2012 National Achievement Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This highly selective scholarship competition recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African American high school seniors across the United States.

Winners are awarded $2,500 scholarships, which are privately financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and grants from corporate organizations and professional associations. This year, the 13 winners from MCPS comprise nearly one-third of the 43 winners selected from Maryland. Approximately 800 winners were chosen from across the nation out of more than 160,000 applicants.

In 2011, MCPS also had 13 seniors chosen as National Achievement Scholars. The program, established in 1964, honors scholastically talented African American students and has awarded more than $100 million in college scholarships over the last 48 years. More information about the National Achievement Scholarship Program is available at www.nationalmerit.org

The 2012 MCPS winners and their high schools are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
·  Erica E. Turner
·  Nailah U. Harper-Malveaux

Clarksburg High School
·  Mopewa Ogundipe

Col. Zadok Magruder High School
·  Sydney A. Butler

Gaithersburg High School
·  Jordyn R. Chesley

Northwest High School
·  Dana K. Robertson

Paint Branch High School
·  Ryan A. Anderson

Poolesville High School
·  Mariyam Oniyeche Sheidu
·  Tishina D. Tittley

Springbrook High School
·  Brittany M. Lambert

Walter Johnson High School
·  Modibo Khane Camara

Winston Churchill High School
·  Christine N. Hildreth
·  Maliza W. Namude


Frederick County Businesses