Our network

Student Pages Selected in Frederick County for the Maryland General Assembly 2012 | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Student Pages Selected in Frederick County for the Maryland General Assembly 2012
Student Pages Selected in Frederick County for the Maryland General Assembly 2012


The following information was sent to us by Peggy Ballew:  


Five Frederick County students will serve as pages, and one as alternate, for the Maryland General Assembly 2012 legislative session. All are high school seniors.

Kenneth Bartlett, Middletown High, is his school’s Student Government Association Committee chairman and a National Honor Society member. He recently attended Boys Nation, Maryland Boys State and the U.S. Military Academy Summer Leaders Seminar. Kenneth has achieved an Advanced Placement Scholar Award, was recognized as a Maryland Distinguished Scholar and has earned several academic awards.

            Emma Best, Catoctin High, is a member of her school’s Student Government Association and the National Honor Society. She plays varsity field hockey and varsity lacrosse, and she is on the 4x4 relay state team. Emma was the ambassador for Catoctin High at the Hugh O’Brian Leadership Seminar and was recognized for outstanding leadership potential.

Tiffany Burba, Linganore High, is president of her school’s National Honor Society and the National English Honor Society, vice president of the Mu Alpha Theta National Math Honor Society and a member of the National Spanish Honor Society and the National Society of High School Scholars. She has earned the Advanced Placement Scholar with Distinction Award and the National Merit Scholar Commendable Achievement Award.

            Nicole Shuster, Governor Thomas Johnson High, is a marching band and academic, Mock Trial and tennis team member. Nicole attended a Girls State 2011 leadership and citizenship program and was elected vice committee chair for mock legislature. She has lettered once in marching band, twice in academics and also won a school-level computer graphics contest.

Benjamin Smith, Brunswick High, is president and past vice president of his school’s National Honor Society. He has earned college credits from Advanced Placement courses and Frederick Community College while attending high school. In addition to being named an Advanced Placement Scholar, Benjamin has earned numerous music/band awards.

            Mohammad Omar Goheer, from Tuscarora High, will serve as an alternate page. An AP Scholar with Honors and treasurer of his senior class, Mohammad is a member of the National Honor Society, treasurer of the Muslim Club and was member-at-large of the Student Government Association.

            Serving as a legislative page is a unique opportunity for students to learn firsthand about the workings of the legislative process in Maryland. Apportionment of pages, by county, is based on the census taken at the beginning of each decade. Maryland pages must be senior high school students residing in the state.

            For more information, contact Frederick County Public Schools Secondary Social Studies curriculum specialist Michael Bunitsky, 301-644-5265.





Frederick County Businesses